Business Forum | Small Business Forums | Entrepreneur Forums

Forums  |   Register  |   Login  |   Forum FAQ

You need to be a registered member to use our business forums.
Register or Log In Now

Selling One, Starting Another, Scared, Advice?

Printable Version
All Forums >> Other Entrepreneur Topics >> Women Entrepreneurs >> Selling One, Starting Another, Scared, Advice? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Selling One, Starting Another, Scared, Advice? - 8/4/2013 2:35:44 PM   
stressedlady

Here is my story. Would like to visit with others who can relate.

I'm a wife and mother, I'm also a medical professional who works at a hospital, except off due to an injury right now.

A little over fifteen years ago, my husband and I decided to start a small business. We did a tremendous amount of research into equipment, building, what we could expect our costs and profits to be. We visited similar businesses, attended conventions, and went to trade shows. We joined business associations. We came up with a business plan, and approached our local bank for financing. Now, this is a very small town, so these people know us well. We had been customers for years. We owned our home and vehicles free and clear, had excellent credit, and a reputation for hard work. We also had roughly $100,000 in CD's and investment accounts, being quite frugal, as well as no other debts. We knew our business would cost around half a million dollars. The bank was excited to have a new business, and approved our loan. I gave them $100,000, as well as the title to our house, and the business would also be collateral, and we started building.